Mortimer Forest

After a busy Saturday in the garden, I though we had made the most of the good weather and settled in for a damp, cloudy Sunday. However, it was not to be. Sunday provided a lovely sunny day with bright blue skies, it would be a shame not to get the Milkfloat out.

With the temperature warm (for April) I decided to try out my new jacket. Purchased in the depths of winter at a bargain price a RevIt Eclipse mesh jacket aimed at the roasting temperatures we have been having during the summers. I have never been particularly brand loyal but heading out, I was pretty well kitted up in Rev’It gear consisting of my jeans, gloves and jacket. High quality and a long leg length for their trousers really sold it to me, even if I have to save up for new gear each time.

As a spur of the moment ride, I had no plans or route made, no destination in mind so headed up the river towards Bridgnorth. As I passed the Severn Valley Railway stations, I noticed it was rather busy indicating one of their galas was taking place. I narrowly missed sight of one such steam train as I made my way into Bridgnorth so turned sharply left and headed back southwards, hoping for a glimpse or some cool footage on my Insta360 camera. Unfortunately it was not to be, and instead had a close view of an oncoming BMW as he overtook two cars in front of me. A quick beep to let him know I was there and a glad feeling that I had been tucked over to the offside as I came over the hill crest.

A last minute decision saw me leaving the B-road and onto a small country track. Not 10miles from home, I had found new roads and places to explore. Making my way Westwards now, I cruised through Cleobury North and Burton, now heading for Ludlow for a cup of tea. Coming into Ludlow, with the street market on, I headed to the carpark but found the motorcycle bays to be full with no remaining space to park. Since the local council has banned motorcycles parking in front of the castle, I gave up on my quest for tea and decided to head out westwards on the hunt for a cafe with parking.

Heading up the hill, I found myself riding through the Mortimer forest. Previously unaware of its existence, I found a lovely road through the trees with views behind looking back over Ludlow and the castle.

I continued on and, shortly after the last official parking for the Mortimer forest, the road changed to a pothole-filled lane and my chances of finding a café dwindled. It was great exploring with no destination in mind, still close to familiarity, and the feeling of freedom that motorcycling provides was really amplified. I eventually made the decision to turn back, wanting to take in the views over Ludlow on the return rather than in my mirrors. A quick supermarket pitstop the other side of Ludlow found me admiring a beautiful yellow Daihatsu Copen. My guilty pleasure of a dream car. Small, lightweight and what loots like fun to drive, if I could ever fold myself inside.

From here I took the usual route home across Clee Hill, taking in the beautiful Shropshire views and preparing to give the Milkfloat a good clean before returning to the garage ready for another day.

Safe riding and I hope to see you out there!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started